31 C
Thursday, April 25, 2024

ECI transfers 8 district magistrates, 12 SPs across five states

- Advertisement -
- Advertisement -

HT Digital,

New Delhi, April 2: In a significant administrative overhaul, the Election Commission of India (ECI) has announced the transfer of 8 District Magistrates (DMs) and 12 Superintendents of Police (SPs) across five states, namely Assam, Bihar, Jharkhand, Odisha, and Andhra Pradesh.

- Advertisement -

The decision, made during a meeting chaired by Chief Election Commissioner Shri Rajiv Kumar and Election Commissioners Shri Gyanesh Kumar and Shri Sukhbir Singh Sandhu, reflects the Commission’s commitment to maintaining impartiality and efficiency in the electoral process.

The transferred officials and their respective postings are as follows: Assam: DM of Udalgiri Bihar: DM and SP of Bhojpur district DM and SP of Nawada district Jharkhand: SP Deoghar Directive issued to fill up vacant posts of SP(Rural) Ranchi, DIG Palamu, IG Dumka, and submit a panel of officials Odisha: DM of Cuttack & Jagatsinghpur SP of Angul, Behrampur, Khurda, Rourkela DCP Cuttack & IG Central Andhra Pradesh: DM of Krishna, Ananthpuramu, Tirupati districts SP of Prakasham, Palnadu, Chittoor, Anathpuramu, Nellore districts IGP Guntur Range.

As per the directive, the transferred officials are required to hand over their responsibilities to their immediate junior officers. Additionally, they will not be assigned any election-related duties until the conclusion of the General Elections 2024. The respective state governments have been instructed to furnish a panel of names comprising IAS and IPS officers to the Commission.

The transfers come as part of the Election Commission’s routine review process, aimed at ensuring the smooth conduct of elections and upholding the principles of administrative integrity and transparency.

- Advertisement -
The Hills Times
The Hills Timeshttps://thehillstimes.in/
The Hills Times, a largely circulated English daily published from Diphu and printed in Guwahati, having vast readership in hills districts of Assam, and neighbouring Nagaland, Meghalaya, Arunachal Pradesh and Manipur
Latest news
- Advertisement -
Related news
- Advertisement -
Must-Try Traditional Dishes From Kerala Top 7 Must Visit Destinations Near Bengaluru 10 Yoga Poses That Can Improve Concentration Power 10 Spots To Explore In Aizawl 10 Hidden Gem Hill Stations In India To Escape The Summer Heat In April / May