UNESCO World Heritage Sites  In India

26/ APRIL  /2023

India is home to 38 UNESCO World Heritage Sites, which are recognized for their cultural and natural importance. Here is a list of these sites 

Taj Mahal

The Taj Mahal is an ivory-white marble mausoleum located in Agra, built by the Mughal Emperor Shah Jahan in memory of his wife Mumtaz Mahal. It is considered a masterpiece of Mughal architecture and a symbol  of love.

Jaipur City

Also known as the "Pink City," Jaipur is a planned city built in the 18th century by Maharaja Sawai Jai Singh II. It is known for its architectural landmarks such as Hawa Mahal, City Palace, and Jantar Mantar.


Hampi is a UNESCO World Heritage Site located in the state of Karnataka. It was once the capital of the Vijayanagara Empire and is known for its impressive ruins of temples, palaces, and other structures, many of which were built during the 14th-16th centuries.

Khajuraho Group of Monuments 

The Khajuraho Group of Monuments is a complex of Hindu and Jain temples in the state of Madhya Pradesh. Built between the 9th and 12th centuries, the temples are known for their intricate carvings and sculptures depicting various mythological and secular scenes.

Sundarbans National Park 

The Sundarbans National Park is a mangrove forest located in the delta of the Ganges, Brahmaputra, and Meghna rivers. It is home to the Royal Bengal tiger, as well as numerous other species of animals and plants.