16 C
Thursday, February 9, 2023

Kalaguru Sangeet Mahavidyalaya celebrates 46th foundation day in Tezpur

- Advertisement -
- Advertisement -

HT Correspondent
TEZPUR, June 23: The 46th foundation day of Kalaguru Sangeet Mahavidyalaya which was established on June 20, 1977 was celebrated on Wednesday with a special program including songs and dance. The program was inaugurated by prominent playwright and director Aishwarjya Kakati and Assam Sahitya Sabha publicity convenor Pankaj Barua respectively while the event was hosted by Nirup Borthakur, a teacher of the college. Aishwarjya Kakati in his speech said, “Music and dance helps people to move forward with mental and physical peace.”
Pankaj Baruah, in his inaugural address, remembered the late principal of the college, prominent Sattriya artists Punyabrata Devgoswami, Hemant Kumar Barua and Narendra Deb Goswami who took strong steps to make the college one of the leading music institutions. During the programme, Bishnu Goswami, principal and teachers of the college congratulated the two students of the college namely Krishti Borthakur and Phalasruti Dutta for their notable achievement in the ‘National Classical Music Competition’ organized by AVM in Bhopal where they secured first place in ‘Sattriya Dance’ category in the Bisharad examination organised by the Assam Satra Mahasabha respectively.
The cultural program started with the cultural programmes presented by the teachers and students of the college including Alaka Sarma and Shyam Kalyan Das. The program included a dance on Bishnu Prasad Rava’s songs, music was conducted by Nirup Borthakur and Jula Bora, violin played by Shyam Kalyan Das, Sattriya dance performed by Jogen Dutta Bayan and Ava Baruah, Bharat Natyam performed by Niki Das Bora and Pranami Borthakur.

- Advertisement -
Avatar photo
The Hills Timeshttps://www.thehillstimes.in/
The Hills Times, a largely circulated English daily published from Diphu and printed in Guwahati, having vast readership in hills districts of Assam, and neighbouring Nagaland, Meghalaya, Arunachal Pradesh and Manipur.
Latest news
- Advertisement -
Related news
- Advertisement -