30 C
Monday, September 25, 2023

Sivasagar to observe celebrations of Quit India Movement tomorrow

- Advertisement -
- Advertisement -

HT Correspondent
SIVASAGAR, Aug 7: Celebrations of Quit India Movement 1942 will be held centrally at Sivasagar on August 9. Announcing this in a press meet in the Mukti Jujaru Sanmilan Bhawan, the secretary of the celebration committee formed for the purpose, Jogen Buragohain briefed the media on the preparation and the programme details. Sushil Baruah, Gautom Buragohain and Bhuban Chandra Gogoi of the Freedom Fighters Association attended the meeting and sought the cooperation of the print and electronic media to highlight the programme. The programme includes Swacch Bharat Abhiyan, planting of saplings, and garlanding ceremony at the statue of Mahatma Gandhi in the morning. Krishnakanta Lahkar, president, Assam Freedom Fighters Association, will hoist the flag. Dr Ranuj Pegu, minister of Education; Jogen Mohan, minister of Revenue and Disaster Management; Dr Pradip Thakuria, president, Senior Citizens’ Forum; Debaprasad Mishra, commissioner, Home & Political Affairs; Animesh Talukdar, joint commissioner, Home; Nityananda Sarma, president, All India Freedom Fighters Association; Meghanidhi Dahal, DC Sivasagar; Topon Kumar Gogoi, MP Jorhat; Akhil Gogoi, MLA, Sivasagar and a host of other dignitaries will attend the open session.
Gautom Buragohain told the media that the descendants of the freedom fighters have formed a new association in Assam ‘Muktiyuddha Uttaradhikari Sanmilan’ to keep the families of the freedom fighters under one umbrella. The association thanked CM Himanta Biswa Sarma led government for donating Rs 5 lakh each to 26 martyrs’ families who made the supreme sacrifice for the nation during the freedom struggle.

- Advertisement -
The Hills Times
The Hills Timeshttps://www.thehillstimes.in/
The Hills Times, a largely circulated English daily published from Diphu and printed in Guwahati, having vast readership in hills districts of Assam, and neighbouring Nagaland, Meghalaya, Arunachal Pradesh and Manipur.
Latest news
- Advertisement -
Related news
- Advertisement -