28 C
Sunday, October 1, 2023

TDSA launches Rajen Borthakur Memorial Tezpur Challenge Football Tournament

- Advertisement -
- Advertisement -

HT Correspondent

TEZPUR, Sept 14: The Tezpur District Sports Association (TDSA) kicked off the Rajen Borthakur Memorial Tezpur Challenge Football Tournament at Tezpur Polofield with an exciting match between Udalguri Football Eleven and Jorhat Town Club.

- Advertisement -

The opening ceremony commenced with the hoisting of the Tezpur District Sports Association flag by Jien Borthakur, president of TDSA. This was followed by a heartfelt tribute program dedicated to the memory of Rajen Borthakur, the former president of TDSA and former MLA of Tezpur and Rangapara Legislative Assembly Constituency. Seema Borthakur, the wife of late Rajen Borthakur, inaugurated the tribute program in the presence of esteemed individuals from the city, including retired professor Mahendra Nath Keot, additional district commissioner Sonitpur Pankaj Bora, chairman of Tezpur Municipality Prajnyanu Bhattacharya, former chairman of Tezpur Municipality Puspa Deka, retired professor Minu Devi, former student leader Dadul Borkakati, and TDSA officials.

Former minister and Assam Football Association member Naba Kumar Doley extended his best wishes to the players of both teams and welcomed them by shaking hands before the inaugural match. The event featured a captivating performance by Tezpur artists who presented a chorus of Dr Bhupen Hazarika’s ‘Ei Prithibi Ek Krirangan, Krira Hol Shantir Prangon’ (The world is a playground, sports is the ground of peace), accompanied by a band performance by a group from Assam Rifle. The entire inaugural program was conducted by TDSA’s vice president, Mridul Kumar Sarma.

In the opening match, Udalguri Football Eleven secured a victory with a score of 2-0 against Jorhat Town Club, and Arluis Daimari from Udalguri Football Eleven was named the best player of the match.

TDSA officials announced that the tournament’s final match will take place on September 24. A total of ten football teams, including Tezpur FC, Durgapur FC from Kolkata, Land Rover Football Eleven of Silchar, New Model Town Club, PFR Academy Shillong, Oil India, Sirang Dubar FC, Morning Star, and Diphu Football Team, have confirmed their participation in the Rajen Borthakur Memorial Tezpur Challenge Football Tournament.

- Advertisement -
The Hills Times
The Hills Timeshttps://thehillstimes.in/
The Hills Times, a largely circulated English daily published from Diphu and printed in Guwahati, having vast readership in hills districts of Assam, and neighbouring Nagaland, Meghalaya, Arunachal Pradesh and Manipur
Latest news
- Advertisement -
Related news
- Advertisement -