31 C
Friday, June 9, 2023

Tezpur Literature Festival 2022 to start in Tezpur from today

- Advertisement -
- Advertisement -

HT Correspondent
TEZPUR, Dec 8: The first ever festival of words at Tezpur, Tezpur LitFest’22 will starts from Friday with three days colourful programmes at NERIWALM campus and renowned authors from inside and outside the state like Mamang Dai, Mitra Phukan, Dhruba Hazarika, Anuradha Sarma Pujari, Yeshe Dorjee Thongchi, Prof Jernail Sing Anand, Ankush Saikia, Antar Atreya, Prarthana Saikia, Janice Pariat, Arindom Borkotoky, Sarmishtha Pritam, etc., along with celebrity cine star Rajat Kapoor will take part in the programme. Galaxy of writers, poets and authors will share their experiences and insights on a wide range of issues during the three-day long programme. The organising committee headed by Deba Kumar Mishra, deputy commissioner, Sonitpur as chairman has left no stone unturned to make the programme success and to welcome the authors, guests and participants to the Literature Festival.
Deba Kumar Mishra, deputy commissioner, Sonitpur and chairperson of the organising committee of the Tezpur Litfest’22 took stock of the preparations undergone at Neriwalm campus in presence of executive chairperson Jayashree Bhuyan, vice chairpersons Pankaj Barua, Mahendra Kumar Nath and Pulak Kumar Deka, convenors Dr Sarita Sharma and Bikram Kalita on Thursday morning.
Deputy commissioner Deba Kumar Mishra informed the media that the fest is to facilitate a direct connect between authors and the readers and thereby promoting the reading and writing culture especially amongst the new generation and he requests cooperation of all concerned to make the programme a grand success.
The first day programme would be inaugurated on Friday by former president of Asom Sahitya Sabha Dr Dhruba Jyoti Bora. Madhurjya Baruah, chief general manager, OIL, Pallab Lochan Das, MP, Tezpur, Prithiraj Rabha, MLA, Tezpur will attend as guest of honour and Deba Kumar Mishra, deputy commissioner, Sonitpur, Sushanta Biswa Sarma, superintendent of police, Sonitpur will also attend the programme as special Invitee. The inaugural session will be followed by the keynote address to be delivered by Professor Ramesh Chandra Deka, vice chancellor, Cotton University and a panel discussion entitled ‘Challenging Confirmation Bias: Blurring Boundaries’ where renown author Mitra Phukan, Prof Jernail Singh Anand, Mamang Dai, Dhruba Hazarika, Ankush Saikia will take part. The first day programme will conclude with the programme ‘Zarir Hussain in conversation with Rajat Kapoor’.
The second day programme includes ‘Heritage Tour of Tezpur’, interactive keynote session with Dr Anuradha Sarma Pujari, panel discussion on ‘Directions of Contemporary Axomiya Writings: Samprotik Axomiya Xahityar Gatipath’. Eminent authors Yeshe Dorjee Thongchi, Arindam Borkotoky, Nang Ajanta Buragohain, Dr Mausumi Borkotoky will take part in the discussion to be moderated by Dr Sanjeev Pol Deka. There will be a ‘Meet the Author(s)’ programme thereafter with popular writer Sarmistha Pritam, and ‘Plenary Session’ with participation of author Mamang Dai. In ‘Meet the Author(s)’ and book launching programme Mitra Phukan will take part as author along with Yeshe Dorjee Thongchi as chief guest and Himen Sarma and Bhupen Saikia as guest of honour. A panel discussion on the subject ‘Literature in Times of Crisis’ will take place thereafter. Renowned authors including Dhruba Hazarika, Mitra Phukan, Janice Pariat and Antar Atreya will participate in the programme which will be moderated by Dr Hemjyoti Medhi.
The second day programme will be concluded with ‘Laugh Lines’ with Pankaj Thapa ‘Contemporary Times Through Cartoons’. The concluding day programme on December 11 will start with an ‘Interactive Session on Creative Writing with Janice Pariat’ and a panel discussion on ‘What Do We Read?’ with participation of school students from various schools of Tezpur. Other programs like Quizzically Yours, Story Telling Session for children aged 5-12, Multi-Lingual Poetry, Open Mic Session with RJ Gupshup, etc., also included in the day long programme with valedictory session. Dr Biren Das, registrar Tezpur University, Dr Palash Moni Saikia, principal, Darrang College, Dr Pradip Kumar Bora, director, North Eastern Regional Institute of Water and Land Management and Dr Amit Jugran will attend as chief guests in valedictory programme which covers cultural extravaganza, felicitations, award presentation, etc. The organising committee requests all for their cooperation in all the events of Tezpur LitFest’22 and to access LitFest website www.tezpurlitfest.in for any kind of information.

- Advertisement -
Avatar photo
The Hills Timeshttps://www.thehillstimes.in/
The Hills Times, a largely circulated English daily published from Diphu and printed in Guwahati, having vast readership in hills districts of Assam, and neighbouring Nagaland, Meghalaya, Arunachal Pradesh and Manipur.
Latest news
- Advertisement -
Related news
- Advertisement -