30 C
Tuesday, May 21, 2024

BJP MLAs from Gujarat, UP, Bihar and Maharashtra arrive in Bhopal

- Advertisement -
- Advertisement -

BHOPAL, Aug 19: Ahead of the Madhya Pradesh elections, BJP MLAs from Gujarat, Uttar Pradesh,
Bihar and Maharashtra have arrived in Bhopal as part of the ruling party’s programme wherein every
legislator will be allotted one assembly seat each that they are supposed to visit to take stock of the
ground situation, party leaders said.
A training session for these Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) legislators from the four states began in
Bhopal on Saturday, a day before they start visiting their allotted assembly seats in the state, where
polls will be held by the end of the year.
There are 230 assembly segments in Madhya Pradesh.
Union minister Bhupender Yadav, who is the BJP’s election in-charge of Madhya Pradesh,
inaugurated the training session for the legislators this morning.
“The BJP’s central leadership has decided that the party’s legislators from Gujarat, Bihar, Uttar
Pradesh and Maharashtra will visit different assembly constituencies (in MP) over the next days
starting Sunday,” Madhya Pradesh Minister for Medical Education and BJP leader Vishvas Sarang
told reporters.
The visiting legislators will take part in different programmes in their respective assembly segments
allotted to them and work with a resolve for the party’s victory in the assembly polls, he said.
As part of the programme, they will interact with the party’s local functionaries and voters, sources
Chief minister Shivraj Singh Chouhan, party chief V D Sharma are scheduled to address the training
programme, Sarang said.
Earlier on Thursday, the ruling BJP announced its first list of 39 candidates for the state assembly
elections, even before the announcement of the poll schedule.
In this list, the saffron party has focused on the seats it lost in 2018 and some of them even in 2013,
and has reposed faith in 14 candidates, including three former ministers, who lost last time.
In the 2018 assembly polls, the Congress had won 114 seats, while the BJP finished second with 109.
The Congress, which was two short of a simple majority, went on to form a government under the
leadership of party veteran Kamal Nath with the support of Independents, the MLAs from the BSP
and the SP.

However, the Nath government collapsed after 15 months when a section of Congress MLAs, most
of them loyal to Union minister Jyotiraditya Scindia, quit and joined the BJP. The saffron party
returned to power in March 2020 with Shivraj Singh Chouhan as chief minister for a fresh term. (PTI)

- Advertisement -
The Hills Times
The Hills Timeshttps://thehillstimes.in/
Welcome to The Hills Times, your trusted source for daily news and updates in English from the heart of Assam, India. Since our establishment in 2000, we've been dedicated to providing timely and accurate information to our readers in Diphu and Guwahati. As the first English newspaper in the then undemarcated Karbi Anglong district, we've forged a strong connection with diverse communities and age groups, earning a reputation for being a reliable source of news and insights. In addition to our print edition, we keep pace with the digital age through our website, https://thehillstimes.in, where we diligently update our readers with the latest happenings day by day. Whether it's local events, regional developments, or global news, The Hills Times strives to keep you informed with dedication and integrity. Join us in staying ahead of the curve and exploring the world through our lens.
Latest news
- Advertisement -
Related news
- Advertisement -