36 C
Saturday, May 25, 2024

Cong president Kharge forms new CWC, includes some G23 members in new team

- Advertisement -
- Advertisement -

NEW DELHI, Aug 20: Congress president Mallikarjun Kharge on Sunday reconstituted the party’s top
decision-making body – CWC – with some leaders of the G23 grouping, including Shashi Tharoor and
Anand Sharma, who were critical of the party leadership in the past among the 84 members.
The all-important Congress Working Committee, formed 10 months after Kharge took charge after
defeating Tharoor, includes several young faces who are below the age of 50, leaders from weaker
sections and 15 women.
The new CWC has 39 regular members, 32 permanent invitees, including some in-charges of state,
and 13 special invitees, including presidents of the Youth Congress, the National Students’ Union of
India, the Mahila Congress and the Seva Dal as ex-officio members.
Mukul Wasnik, Anand Sharma and Tharoor, who were part of the group of 23 dissident leaders who
had written to then Congress president Sonia Gandhi and had raised questions on the party’s
leadership, are among the regular members of the new CWC.
Manish Tewari and Veerappa Moily, who were also part of the grouping, have been made
permanent invitees to the CWC.
Sachin Pilot, who rebelled against the party’s government in Rajasthan in 2020 and was later
removed as deputy chief minister, is also among the new CWC members.
Prominent exclusions in the new CWC include ex-MP from Rajasthan Raghuveer Singh Meena, Jai
Prakash Aggarwal, Dinesh Gundu Rao, H K Patil, K H Muniappa, P L Punia, Pramod Tiwari and Raghu
Gundu Rao, Muniappa and Patil have since become ministers in the Congress government in
Former Punjab chief minister Charanjit Singh Channi and Pratibha Singh have also been included in
the important panel, according to a Congress statement.
Former Maharashtra chief minister Ashokrao Chavan, N Raghuveera Reddy, Tamradhwaj Sahu,
Deepa Das Munshi, Syed Naseer Hussain, Mahendrajeet Singh Malviya, G A Mir, Gourav Gogoi and
Jagdish Thakore are among the new additions in the CWC as regular members.
Among the new CWC permanent invitees are Kanhaiya Kumar, Mohan Prakash, K Raju, Chandrakant
Handore, Meenakshi Natarajan, Phulo Devi Netam, Sudeep Roy Burman, Damodar Raja Narasimha,
Gurdeep Sappal and Sachin Rao.
Those also included as special invitees are former Union minister Pallam Raju, besides Pawan Khera,
Ganesh Godiyal, Kodikkunil Suresh, Yashomati Thakur, Supriya Shrinate, Priniti Shinde, Alka Lamba
and Vamshi Chand Reddy.
The new CWC, which replaces the Steering Committee that was formed as a stop-gap arrangement
after Kharge became the party president on October 10 last year, has been announced as the
principal opposition party prepares for a crucial round of assembly polls in the coming months and
the 2024 general elections.
The last time the Congress Working Committee was reconstituted was on September 11, 2020 under
Sonia Gandhi’s presidentship. This is the first Working Committee formed under Mallikarjun Kharge’s
The new working committee has been formed after several rounds of deliberations.
There are, however, only 15 women in the 84-member body, including six general members, four
permanent invitees and five special invitees.
The regular members of the CWC are Mallikarjun Kharge, Sonia Gandhi, Manmohan Singh, Rahul
Gandhi, Adhir Ranjan Chowdhury, A K Antony, Ambika Soni, Meira Kumar, Digvijaya Singh, P
Chidambaram, Tariq Anwar, Lal Thanhawala, Mukul Wasnik, Anand Sharma, Adhokrao Chavan, Ajay
Maken, Charanjit Singh Channi, Priyanka Gandhi Vadra and Kumari Selja, the statement said.

Gaikhangam, N Raghuveera Reddy, Shashi Tharoor, Tamradhwaj Sahu, Abhishek Singhvi, Salman
Khurshid, Jairam Ramesh, Jitendra Singh, Randeep Surjewala, Sachin Pilot, Deepak Babaria, Jagdish
Thakore, G S Mir, Avinash Pande, Deepa Das Munshi, Mahendrajeet Singh Malviya, Gourav Gogoi,
Syed Naseer Hussain, Kamaleshwar Patel and K C Venugopal are also members. (PTI)

- Advertisement -
The Hills Times
The Hills Timeshttps://thehillstimes.in/
Welcome to The Hills Times, your trusted source for daily news and updates in English from the heart of Assam, India. Since our establishment in 2000, we've been dedicated to providing timely and accurate information to our readers in Diphu and Guwahati. As the first English newspaper in the then undemarcated Karbi Anglong district, we've forged a strong connection with diverse communities and age groups, earning a reputation for being a reliable source of news and insights. In addition to our print edition, we keep pace with the digital age through our website, https://thehillstimes.in, where we diligently update our readers with the latest happenings day by day. Whether it's local events, regional developments, or global news, The Hills Times strives to keep you informed with dedication and integrity. Join us in staying ahead of the curve and exploring the world through our lens.
Latest news
- Advertisement -
Related news
- Advertisement -