26 C
Sunday, May 19, 2024

2 file nominations in Manipur

- Advertisement -
- Advertisement -

IMPHAL, March 27: Two candidates have filed their nomination papers from the two Lok Sabha seats in Manipur where polling will be held during the first and second phases of the elections.

The candidates, Kachui Timothy Zimik and Rajkumar Somendro Singh alias Kaiku filed their nominations on Monday 25.

- Advertisement -

Zimik, a resident of Sanakeithel village of Ukhrul district, filed his nomination as Naga People’s Front (NPF) candidate for contesting the elections from Outer Manipur (ST) Parliamentary constituency at the office of the returning officer (RO) of the constituency at Thoubal DC office.

Rajkumar Somendro Singh alias Kaiku, a resident of Thangmeiband Maisnam Leikai of Imphal West district filed his nomination paper to the RO of Inner Manipur Parliamentary constituency as a nominee of Manipur People’s Party (MPP).

Till date, only these two candidates have filed their nomination papers for the two Lok Sabha seats from Manipur. The last date for making nominations for both the seats was Wednesday.

Even as only two days left until the last date of filing nomination papers, the ruling BJP is yet to announce the party’s nominee from the Inner Manipur Parliamentary constituency even though the party sources said that it will field a candidate.

- Advertisement -

A party source said that the name of the party nominee is likely to be announced late this evening.

The saffron party had already announced supporting the NPF candidate in the Outer Manipur (ST) Parliamentary constituency.

The Congress had already announced the names of the candidates for the two seats. Professor Angomcha Bimol Akoijam will be contesting the elections from Inner Manipur Parliamentary constituency while Alfred Kangam Arthur from the Outer seat.

The elections to the two Lok Sabha seats in Manipur will go in two phases, on April 19 and 26. While the Inner seat is to go to poll on April 19, the polling in the Outer seat will be held twice – April 19 and April 26.

- Advertisement -

The voting in Churachandpur, Chandel and Kangpokpi districts of the Outer Manipur (ST) Parliamentary Constituency will take place in the first phase along with the valley districts.

Of the six valley districts, Thoubal, Kakching and Jiribam districts are covered by the Outer Manipur (ST) Parliamentary constituency.

However, the voting in Jiribam district will take place in the second phase along with other hill districts of Pherzawl, Noney, Tamenglong, Senapati, Ukhrul, Kamjong and Tengnoupal districts.

While the last date of making nomination for candidates was Wednesday, the scrutiny will be held on Thursday and the last date of withdrawal of candidatures for both the phases is March 30. (NNN)

- Advertisement -
The Hills Times
The Hills Timeshttps://thehillstimes.in/
Welcome to The Hills Times, your trusted source for daily news and updates in English from the heart of Assam, India. Since our establishment in 2000, we've been dedicated to providing timely and accurate information to our readers in Diphu and Guwahati. As the first English newspaper in the then undemarcated Karbi Anglong district, we've forged a strong connection with diverse communities and age groups, earning a reputation for being a reliable source of news and insights. In addition to our print edition, we keep pace with the digital age through our website, https://thehillstimes.in, where we diligently update our readers with the latest happenings day by day. Whether it's local events, regional developments, or global news, The Hills Times strives to keep you informed with dedication and integrity. Join us in staying ahead of the curve and exploring the world through our lens.
Latest news
- Advertisement -
Related news
- Advertisement -
5 Rice Dishes For Summers From South India Must Visiting Places In Northeast India 5 Lighthouses That You Must Visit In India Top 10 Medical Colleges In India Top 10 Places To Visit In Cherrapunji