27 C
Friday, June 9, 2023

6 newly elected Rajya Sabha members took oath

- Advertisement -
- Advertisement -

New Delhi, April 4 (IANS): Six newly elected members of the Rajya Sabha on Monday took oath.

Rajya Sabha chairman M. Venkaiah Naidu presided over the process of oath and affirmation of new members.

- Advertisement -

Those who took oath are Pabitra Margherita and Rwngwra Narzary from Assam, Jebi Mather Hisham, Sandosh Kumar and A. Rahim from Kerala and S. Phangnon Konyak from Nagaland.

BJP’s Konyak, who was elected unopposed to the lone Rajya Sabha seat from Nagaland, who became the first woman from the state to get a berth in the Parliament’s Upper House.

Konyak is also president of Nagaland BJP women wing.

In the recent election of 13 Rajya Sabha seats, the BJP has won four Rajya Sabha seats from three Northeastern states – Assam, Tripura and Nagaland. The saffron party alliance partner United People’s Party Liberal (UPPL) won one Rajya Sabha seat from Assam.

- Advertisement -
Avatar photo
The Hills Timeshttps://thehillstimes.in/
The Hills Times, a largely circulated English daily published from Diphu and printed in Guwahati, having vast readership in hills districts of Assam, and neighbouring Nagaland, Meghalaya, Arunachal Pradesh and Manipur
Latest news
- Advertisement -
Related news
- Advertisement -