18 C
Saturday, December 2, 2023

Nagaland polls: Congress announces list of 21 candidates

- Advertisement -
- Advertisement -

NEW DELHI, Feb 4 (PTI): The Congress on Saturday released its first list of 21 candidates for the Nagaland assembly polls, fielding its state unit chief K Therie from Dimapur-I.

The list was released after a meeting of the Central Election Committee, headed by party chief Mallikarjun Kharge.

- Advertisement -

“The Central Election Committee of the Congress has selected the candidates for the ensuing elections to the Legislative assembly of Nagaland,” an official statement said.

Among the other candidates in the party’s first list are S Amento Chisti from Dimapur II (ST), V Lasuh from Dimapur III (ST), Akavi Zhimomi from Ghaspani-I and Rosy Thomas from Tenning (ST).

Assembly elections in Nagaland will be held on February 27 and the results declared on March 2. The last date for filing of nominations is February 7.

- Advertisement -
The Hills Times
The Hills Timeshttps://www.thehillstimes.in/
The Hills Times, a largely circulated English daily published from Diphu and printed in Guwahati, having vast readership in hills districts of Assam, and neighbouring Nagaland, Meghalaya, Arunachal Pradesh and Manipur.
Latest news
- Advertisement -
Related news
- Advertisement -