20 C
Friday, December 8, 2023

Former NEIST scientist selected for Ayabhatta Science Centre award

- Advertisement -
- Advertisement -

HT Correspondent

JORHAT, Feb 21: Retired chief scientist of the  CSIR-NEIST (Council of Scientific and Industrial Research – North East Institute of Science and Technology, Jorhat, has been selected for the prestigious ‘Dr Jiban Chandra Sarmah Kotoky Memorial Bigyan Prasar Award 2023’, instituted by the Jorhat District Aryabhatta Science Centre.

- Advertisement -

A statement from the Centre informed that the award will be presented to Dr Paran Baruah, in a ceremony to be held at the premises of Horucharai Gharphalia High School on the outskirts here on February 28 on the occasion of ‘National Science Day’.

Dr Baruah, presently the president of governing body of Jorhat College (Amalgamated) and also of Jorhat Environment Forum, and a former president of the National Children’s Science Congress, Jorhat branch, has been involved in promotion and popularizing of science.

He is an author of several books and has research papers, articles published in different journals, magazines and newspapers respectively. He has been also associated with activities related to environment protection.

Dr Baruah, who is a recipient of several awards, is originally from Nazira, Sivasagar district. He now resides in Jorhat.

- Advertisement -
The Hills Times
The Hills Timeshttps://thehillstimes.in/
The Hills Times, a largely circulated English daily published from Diphu and printed in Guwahati, having vast readership in hills districts of Assam, and neighbouring Nagaland, Meghalaya, Arunachal Pradesh and Manipur
Latest news
- Advertisement -
Related news
- Advertisement -
Shillong Is Prettiest This Time Of Year; Here’s Proof 10 Places In India With Cleanest Air You Must Visit Best Road Trips To Take In India This Winter 7-Step Night Routine For Glowing Skin 12 Benefits Of Eating Raw Or Green Papaya