28 C
Tuesday, May 28, 2024

CSIR announces Shanti Swarup Bhatnagar Prizes-2022 to 12 scientists

- Advertisement -
- Advertisement -

NEW DELHI, Sept 11: Ahead of its foundation day, the Council of Scientific and Industrial Research (CSIR)
on Monday announced the Shanti Swarup Bhatnagar awards for 2022 to be distributed to 12 young
scientists across the country.
Immunologist Dipyaman Ganguli of CSIR-Indian Institute of Chemical Biology, Kolkata, astrophysicist
Kanak Saha from the Pune-based Inter-University Centre for Astronomy and Astrophysics, Kanishka
Biswas from International Centre of Materials Science of the Bengaluru-based Jawaharlal Nehru Centre
for Advanced Scientific Research were among the awardees.
The award is given every year to scientists under the age of 45 years and carries a purse of Rs five lakh
and a citation.
The announcement of the awards came amid a row over government’s plans to prune National Science
Amit Singh, Department of Microbiology and Cell Biology of the Indian Institute of Science and Arun
Kumar Shukla Department of Biological Sciences and
Bioengineering of Indian Institute of Technology-Kanpur were awarded in the category of Biological
Biswas and T Govindaraju of the Bio-organic Chemistry Laboratory of Jawaharlal Nehru Centre for
Advanced Scientific Research have been selected for the prestigious prize in the Chemical Sciences
In the Earth, Atmosphere, Ocean and Planetary Sciences category, the Prize has been bagged by Binoy
Kumar Saikia of the Coal and Energy Research Group of CSIR North East Institute of Science and
Technology, Jorhat.
In the field of Engineering Sciences, Debdeep Mukhopadhyay of the Department of Computer Science
and Engineering, Indian Institute of Technology Kharagpur has bagged the Prize.
The prize in the Mathematical Sciences category has gone to Anish Ghosh of Mumbai-based Tata
Institute of Fundamental Research and Saket Saurabh of the Institute of Mathematical Sciences,
In the field of Medical Sciences, Dr Jeemon Panniyammakal of the Achutha Menon Centre for Health
Science Studies of Sree Chitra Tirunal lnstitute for Medical Sciences and Technology and Rohit Srivastava
of the Department of Biosciences and Bioengineering, Indian Institute of Technology Bombay will
receive the Prize.
Saha has received the Prize in the physical sciences category.
The Shanti Swarup Bhatnagar Prize, instituted in the memory of the first director general of the CSIR, are
usually announced on the foundation day of the institution on September 26. (PTI)

- Advertisement -
The Hills Times
The Hills Timeshttps://thehillstimes.in/
Welcome to The Hills Times, your trusted source for daily news and updates in English from the heart of Assam, India. Since our establishment in 2000, we've been dedicated to providing timely and accurate information to our readers in Diphu and Guwahati. As the first English newspaper in the then undemarcated Karbi Anglong district, we've forged a strong connection with diverse communities and age groups, earning a reputation for being a reliable source of news and insights. In addition to our print edition, we keep pace with the digital age through our website, https://thehillstimes.in, where we diligently update our readers with the latest happenings day by day. Whether it's local events, regional developments, or global news, The Hills Times strives to keep you informed with dedication and integrity. Join us in staying ahead of the curve and exploring the world through our lens.
Latest news
- Advertisement -
Related news
- Advertisement -