31 C
Tuesday, July 16, 2024

End of road for communists in Tripura, arrogance of ‘ghamandia’ alliance broken: BJP after bypoll victories

- Advertisement -
- Advertisement -

NEW DELHI, Sept 8: The BJP hailed its victory in the bypolls to the Dhanpur and Boxanagar Assembly
seats in Tripura on Friday and said it is the end of the road for the communists in the northeastern state,
which was once known as a Left bastion.
The saffron party gave the credit for its victory in the Tripura bypolls to the “strong and widely
recognised” leadership of Prime Minister Narendra Modi and his mantra of “Sabka Sath, Sabka Vikas”,
and said the results show the people’s “approval” to the developmental work carried out by the party’s
“double-engine” government in the state.
“I extend my heartfelt gratitude to the people of Tripura for making the BJP victorious in the Boxanagar
and Dhanpur assembly bye-elections,” home minister Amit Shah said in a post on X.
The victory in the bypolls will further strengthen “our determination” to transform Tripura into a
prosperous state under the leadership of the prime minister, he added.
Shah also congratulated Tripura chief minister Manik Saha, state BJP president Rajib Bhattacharjee and
the party workers for the “resounding” victory.
“This result shows the people’s approval to the developmental works carried out by our double-engine
government under the guidance of PM Narendra Modiji,” BJP chief J P Nadda said in a post on X.
Nadda also congratulated Saha, Bhattacharjee and the party’s “hard-working karyakartas” for winning
the bypolls with an “overwhelming majority”.
BJP’s in-charge for the northeastern region Sambit Patra hailed the party’s victory in the bypolls and said
the results have broken the arrogance of the “ghamandiya” (arrogant) alliance of opposition parties.
“They have suffered a severe defeat. People have proved their alliance to be a ‘thugbandhan’ (alliance
of thugs),” he wrote on microblogging website X.
“This victory of BJP reflects the strong and widely recognised leadership of Prime Minister Narendra
Modiji and his mantra of ‘Sabka Sath, Sabka Vikas’,” Patra added.
According to the Election Commission (EC), Tafajjal Hossain of the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) won the
Boxanagar seat, which has around 66 per cent minority voters, by a margin of 30,237 votes. Hossain got
34,146 votes, while Mizan Hossain of the Communist Party of India (Marxist) bagged 3,909 votes.
BJP’s Bindu Debnath won the Dhanpur seat, which has a significant tribal population, by a margin of
18,871 votes. Debnath got 30,017 votes while Kaushik Chanda of the CPI(M) got 11,146 votes.
Both the seats in Sepahijala district witnessed a one-on-one contest between the ruling BJP and the
CPI(M) as the two other opposition parties — Tipra Motha and Congress — had not fielded candidates.
“BJP wins both Assembly seats in Tripura…. End of the road for the Communists, in what was once their
bastion,” the party’s IT department head, Amit Malviya, said in a post on X.
Alleging large-scale rigging during the polling and inaction on the part of the EC, the CPI(M) boycotted
the counting of votes.
Polling for the by-elections was held on September 5. An average turnout of 86.5 per cent was recorded
in the two seats. The counting was held at the Sonamura Girls’ School amid tight security.
The bypoll to the Boxanagar constituency was necessitated by the death of CPI(M) MLA Samsul Haque.
Union minister Pratima Bhoumik’s resignation as the MLA from Dhanpur had necessitated the bypoll in
that seat.

The BJP won the Dhanpur seat for the first time in the Assembly polls held seven months ago and
retained it in the by-election. In a significant victory, the ruling party wrested the minority-dominated
Boxanagar seat from the CPI(M) in the bypoll.
With these victories, the BJP’s tally in the 60-member Assembly increased to 33. Its ally, IPFT, has one
MLA, while the Tipra Motha has 13 MLAs, the CPI(M) 10 and the Congress three. (PTI)

- Advertisement -
The Hills Times
The Hills Timeshttps://thehillstimes.in/
Welcome to The Hills Times, your trusted source for daily news and updates in English from the heart of Assam, India. Since our establishment in 2000, we've been dedicated to providing timely and accurate information to our readers in Diphu and Guwahati. As the first English newspaper in the then undemarcated Karbi Anglong district, we've forged a strong connection with diverse communities and age groups, earning a reputation for being a reliable source of news and insights. In addition to our print edition, we keep pace with the digital age through our website, https://thehillstimes.in, where we diligently update our readers with the latest happenings day by day. Whether it's local events, regional developments, or global news, The Hills Times strives to keep you informed with dedication and integrity. Join us in staying ahead of the curve and exploring the world through our lens.
Latest news
- Advertisement -
Related news
- Advertisement -