29 C
Wednesday, May 29, 2024

Tipra Motha leader suspended for seeking votes for BJP ahead of Tripura bypolls

- Advertisement -
- Advertisement -

AGARTALA, Aug 20: A Tipra Motha leader, who had
unsuccessfully contested the last Tripura assembly elections on
a party ticket, has been suspended for seeking votes for the BJP
ahead of the September 5 bypolls in the northeastern state, a
regional party functionary said on Sunday.
Abu Khayer Miah, who had contested, on a Tipra Motha ticket,
from the Boxanagar assembly constituency in the last elections
held in February and conceded defeat, has been suspended, a
party leader said.
A video clip that went viral on social media was purportedly
showing Miah, the Tipra Motha leader in Sepahijala district,
seeking votes in favour of the ruling BJP for the by-election to
Boxanagar seat.

Based on the video footage, Tipra Citizens’ Forum, a wing of
Tipra Motha, demanded disciplinary action against Miah, party
leader Animesh Debbarma told reporters here.
“Taking serious note of the development, our party president
BK Hrangkhawl and other senior leaders have decided to
suspend Abu Khayer Miah for six months for violating party
discipline. He was asked not to join the party’s election-related
activities during the bypolls”, he said.
Bypolls to Dhanpur and Boxanagar assembly constituencies in
Sepahijala district will be held on September 5.
”Miah has crossed the party’s laxman rekha by seeking votes
for the BJP as the Tipra Motha has not decided to whom it will
support in the by-elections in two seats,” Debbarma said.
The regional party has not fielded any candidate in the by-polls.
”We will hold a meeting on August 22 to decide whom the
party will back in the by-election,” he said.
The BJP is set to take on the CPI(M) as the Tipra Motha and the
Congress have decided not to contest the by-elections.
The by-poll to the Boxanagar constituency was necessitated
due to the death of CPI(M) MLA Samsul Haque.
Union Minister Pratima Bhoumik’s resignation as the MLA of
Dhanpur necessitated the by-election to that seat.

- Advertisement -

The CPI(M)-led Left Front has fielded Kaushik Chanda and Mijan
Husain as its nominees for the Dhanpur and Boxanagar
assembly constituencies respectively.
The BJP nominated Taffajal Hussain for the Boxanagar assembly
seat and Bindu Debnath for the Dhanpur segment. (PTI)

- Advertisement -
The Hills Times
The Hills Timeshttps://thehillstimes.in/
Welcome to The Hills Times, your trusted source for daily news and updates in English from the heart of Assam, India. Since our establishment in 2000, we've been dedicated to providing timely and accurate information to our readers in Diphu and Guwahati. As the first English newspaper in the then undemarcated Karbi Anglong district, we've forged a strong connection with diverse communities and age groups, earning a reputation for being a reliable source of news and insights. In addition to our print edition, we keep pace with the digital age through our website, https://thehillstimes.in, where we diligently update our readers with the latest happenings day by day. Whether it's local events, regional developments, or global news, The Hills Times strives to keep you informed with dedication and integrity. Join us in staying ahead of the curve and exploring the world through our lens.
Latest news
- Advertisement -
Related news
- Advertisement -