29 C
Monday, April 22, 2024

Assam: Three more Congress leaders quit party ahead of Lok Sabha Polls

- Advertisement -
- Advertisement -

HT Digital,

Tinsukia, April 3: Three more leaders from the Assam Pradesh Congress Committee (APCC), Manisha Baruah, Amlan Parashar, and Kaustav Borkotoky, have resigned from their primary membership.

- Advertisement -

The reason for their departure remains unknown, but it is speculated that they will join the BJP. This follows the expulsion of Pronab Kumar Baruah, the President of Tinsukia District Congress, who later joined the BJP with several other senior Congress leaders.

There have been numerous defections from Congress and other opposition parties recently, including Rana Goswami and 1,500 workers. The Assam unit of AAP has also seen resignations from its vice president and state spokesperson.

Other notable switchovers include former Assam Youth Congress President Angkita Dutta, Congress leader Kuldip Barua, and former AASU president Dipanka Kumar Nath.

- Advertisement -
The Hills Times
The Hills Timeshttps://thehillstimes.in/
The Hills Times, a largely circulated English daily published from Diphu and printed in Guwahati, having vast readership in hills districts of Assam, and neighbouring Nagaland, Meghalaya, Arunachal Pradesh and Manipur
Latest news
- Advertisement -
Related news
- Advertisement -
10 Spots To Explore In Aizawl 10 Hidden Gem Hill Stations In India To Escape The Summer Heat In April / May Rashami Desai’s Timeless Elegance In Every Click Top 7 Hill Stations In South India You Must Visit Once 7 Animals That Lay Largest Eggs