Home Assam Delimitation opposed in Sivasagar

Delimitation opposed in Sivasagar

HT Correspondent


SIVASAGAR, Dec 29: ATASU, TAYPA and Ahom Sena organised a press meet on Thursday in Sivasagar and the three organisations jointly opposed the proposed delimitation of the constituency prescribed by the Delimitation Commission.

In a release, the leaders of the organisations said that the delimitation will be undertaken in 2026 on the basis of 2021 census reports of the government of India and if the state government carries out the delimitation in 2023, then the state will lose 32 LACs and 8 parliamentary seats.

The leaders further said that it would hamper the development of the state.

Basanta Gogoi, working president, ATASU, urged the government not to go ahead with the move for delimitation till the finalisation of the NRC.

Diganta Tamuly, joint secretary, TAYPA, said that the move of the state government to curtail the number of LACs in the Ahom dominated areas will not be tolerated. Ankuran Phukan, president, Ahom Sena, said that the government has adopted a population control policy while curtailing numbers of LACs in the areas of indigenous population which is disturbing.

Opposing the delimitation move, several other speakers namely – Pradip Borgohain, Purnakanta Buragohain, Phulbor Dihingia, Chandan Phukan, Navajoti Changmai, Bidyut Gogoi, Dibya Rajkhowa  Prabin Baruah delivered speech in the meeting.

Exit mobile version