28 C
Tuesday, May 28, 2024

75 teachers bag national award for their acheivements

- Advertisement -
- Advertisement -

NEW DELHI, Sept 5: From library automation to setting up science museum,
not missing school even a single day for 11 years to cleaning school campus and toilets themselves —
these are some of the feats achieved by those who are among the 75 National Teacher awardees.
The awardees include 50 school teachers, 13 teachers from higher education institutions and 12
from the Ministry of Skill Development and Entrepreneurship.
Mujib Rahiman from Kendriya Vidyalaya in Kerala’s Palakkad developed a software in 2007 which
provides free access to many school libraries in India.
“He has designed library websites and a mobile application for easy access to online services. As an
IT expert, he has successfully trained 600 librarians through 11 Inservice Training courses,”
Rahiman’s award citation read.
Netai Chandra Dey from Ramakrishna Mission school in Arunachal Pradesh has attended school on
all working days for the past 11 years.
“Dey has put tremendous efforts to set up a science museum and a science laboratory in the school.
He has attended school on all working days for the past 11 years. He is working hard towards
character building of students in addition to imparting formal education,” the citation said.
Ningthoujam Binoy Singh from Chingmei Upper Primary School in Manipur himself cleans the school
campus and toilets regularly.
“Singh revived his school which was in an inhospitable condition when he joined. He was
instrumental in transforming the infrastructure, some of it even by spending his own money,which
brought students back to school. He motivated the parents of the dropouts to send them back to
school by visiting their homes,” it said.
Reyaz Ahmed Sheikh from Government Middle School in Kashmir’s Anantnag took initiative to start
an enrolment drive in which door to door visits were made resulting in bringing 30 students back to
school. He motivated and counselled the parents through regular capacity building to allow girls to
attend school regularly.
Dinesh Babu J, associate professor at the International Institute of Information Technology,
Bengaluru, has developed an innovative UPSC virtual reality interviewing platform.
“This cutting-edge technology employs AI and virtual reality, featuring five virtual interviewers who
evaluate candidates online. These interviewers skillfully probe candidates on diverse subjects such
as Indian history, Constitution, and current affairs, incorporating follow-up questions. An IAS
academy has collaborated with IIITB paving the way for its real-world application,” the citation read.
Suman Chakraborty, Professor, IIT, Kharagpur, built the first-ever Microfluidics Lab in India which is
one of the celebrated labs, globally.
The MoE has been organising a national level function on Teachers’ Day every year to confer the
National Awards to the best teachers of the country, selected through a rigorous, transparent
selection process. The awards are conferred by the President.
Starting this year, the ambit of the National Teachers’ Award has been expanded to include teachers
of the Department of Higher Education and Ministry of Skill Development and Entrepreneurship.
“The purpose of National Teachers’ Award is to celebrate the unique contribution of teachers in the
country and to honour those teachers who, through their commitment and dedication, have not
only improved the quality of education but also enriched the lives of their students,” a senior MoE
official said.

“Each award carries a certificate of merit, a cash award of Rs 50,000 and a silver medal. The
awardees also get an opportunity to interact with Prime Minister Narendra Modi,” the official
Among the selected teachers, the maximum are from Gujarat (5) followed by Karnataka and
Maharashtra with four awardees each, officials said.
Three teachers each from Uttar Pradesh, West Bengal, Bihar, Tamil Nadu and Andhra Pradesh have
been selected for the award.
Two CBSE teachers from Delhi and Meerut, two teachers from Kendriya Vidyalaya (Kerala and
Indore), one from Navodaya Vidyalaya in Madhya Pradesh, one from Eklavya Model Residential
School in Madhya Pradesh and one from a CISCE (Council For The Indian School Certificate
Examinations) school in Punjab have also been selected for the award. (PTI)

- Advertisement -
The Hills Times
The Hills Timeshttps://thehillstimes.in/
Welcome to The Hills Times, your trusted source for daily news and updates in English from the heart of Assam, India. Since our establishment in 2000, we've been dedicated to providing timely and accurate information to our readers in Diphu and Guwahati. As the first English newspaper in the then undemarcated Karbi Anglong district, we've forged a strong connection with diverse communities and age groups, earning a reputation for being a reliable source of news and insights. In addition to our print edition, we keep pace with the digital age through our website, https://thehillstimes.in, where we diligently update our readers with the latest happenings day by day. Whether it's local events, regional developments, or global news, The Hills Times strives to keep you informed with dedication and integrity. Join us in staying ahead of the curve and exploring the world through our lens.
Latest news
- Advertisement -
Related news
- Advertisement -