30 C
Monday, September 25, 2023

Langhin FC beat Sun Flower FC to lift 25th Bodo Martyr’s Cup

- Advertisement -
- Advertisement -

HT Bureau

DIPHU, Dec 2: Langhin FC lifted 25th Bodo Martyr’s Cup Football Championship by defeating Sun Flower FC, Nagaon in the final match played at Goraimari Stadium on Friday. The tournament was hosted by Langhin Tiniali Sports Association (LTSA) and sponsored by Bodo Martyr’s Trust, Karbi Anglong.

- Advertisement -

In the field, the two sides Langhin FC and Sun Flower FC in the first half displayed low attacking football. There were fewer shots on target and at the end of the first 45 minutes ended goalless.

In the second half, the local Langhin boys came stronger with more attacks on the visitors. Langhin boys with much struggle manage to break the deadlock in the 69th minute through Sironjit Gogoi. Though Gogoi scored first for the home team, he was sent off from the field after he was booked with a red card in the 73rd minute for a wrong tackle. Lavish Marak scored the second and the winning goal in the 74th and 80th minutes.

A yellow card was given at the 81st minute to Briayan Dosky of Sun Flower FC. The Nagaon boys failed to score any goals and the match ended with a win of 0-3 score in favour of Langhin FC.

During the prize distribution function the Executive Member (EM), Karbi Anglong Autonomous Council (KAAC), Transport and Food & Civil Supplies, Bili Mohan Khaklary said the Bodo Martyr’s Cup is organised every year as a tribute to those who died during the struggle for Bodoland. Bodo Martyr’s Trust, Karbi Anglong is sponsoring the tournament which is hosted by LTSA. The tournament is organised in Bodoland Territorial Region (BTR) as well.

- Advertisement -

The winning team Langhin FC was presented a trophy with cash of Rs. 50,000 which was given away by EM Khaklary, while the runners-up team Sun Flower FC was awarded with a trophy and cash prize of Rs. 30,000.

Best player was adjudged to Awangbo, the Highest Scorer to Lavish Marak and the Best Goalkeeper to Bijon Goyary of Langhin FC.

The prize distribution function was also attended by the Executive Member of Bodoland Territorial Council (BTR), Sports & Youth Welfare, Daobaisa Boro; Chairman, VDC, Langhin, Birsing Timung; President, Bodo Martyr’s Trust, Santanu Basumatary and Secretary, Kiron Basumatary; Vice President, LTSA, Rotnakar Swargiary and General Secretary, Narayan Basumatary.

Altogether 10 teams participated in the tournament.

- Advertisement -


- Advertisement -
The Hills Times
The Hills Timeshttps://thehillstimes.in/
The Hills Times, a largely circulated English daily published from Diphu and printed in Guwahati, having vast readership in hills districts of Assam, and neighbouring Nagaland, Meghalaya, Arunachal Pradesh and Manipur
Latest news
- Advertisement -
Related news
- Advertisement -