29 C
Wednesday, May 22, 2024

12 Candidates File Nominations For 3rd Phase Of Polling In Assam

- Advertisement -
- Advertisement -

GUWAHATI, April 18: Altogether 12 candidates, including Congress and Asom Gana Parishad (AGP) MLAs Rakibul Hussain and Phani Bhushan Choudhury respectively, filed their nomination on Thursday for the four Assam Lok Sabha constituencies going to polls in the third and final phase on May 7, an election official said.

Altogether 30 candidates have filed their nominations so far for Dhubri, Kokrajhar (ST), Barpeta and Guwahati.

- Advertisement -

In Dhubri, three candidates filed their nominations which included Congress MLA Rakibul Hussain, AGP’s Zabed Islam and Republican Party of India (Athawale)’s Rejaul Karim, taking the total candidates so far to nine.

In Barpeta, four candidates filed their papers, including eight-time AGP MLA and former minister Phani Bhushan Choudhury, Sahajahan Ali of Voters Party International (VPI), Chitralekha Das of SUCI(C) and Amzad Ali of RPI(A) with the total candidates submitting their nominations so far to six.

In Kokrajhar (ST), three candidates filed their nominations, including NDA’s Jayanta Basumatary of United Peoples’ Party Liberal (UPPL), Ajoy Narzary of Aam Aadmi Party (AAP) and Gouri Shankar Sarania of All India Trinamool Congress (AITC), with the total to nine so far.

In Guwahati, two independents Kazi Nekib Ahmed and Col Gokul Chandra Singha filed their nominations, taking the total number of having filed their papers for the seat to six.

- Advertisement -

The last date of filing of nomination is April 19 and the scrutiny will be carried out the next day. The last date for withdrawal of nomination is April 22.

Polling in Assam will be held in three phases with 35 candidates for the five seats of Dibrugarh, Jorhat, Kaziranga, Sonitpur and Lakhimpur in the first phase on April 19, while 61 candidates are contesting in the five constituencies of Nagaon, Diphu (ST), Karimganj, Silchar and Darrang-Udalguri in the second phase on April 26.

In the outgoing Lok Sabha, BJP held nine seats, Congress three, AIUDF and an independent one each from the state. (PTI)

- Advertisement -
The Hills Times
The Hills Timeshttps://www.thehillstimes.in/
Welcome to The Hills Times, your trusted source for daily news and updates in English from the heart of Assam, India. Since our establishment in 2000, we've been dedicated to providing timely and accurate information to our readers in Diphu and Guwahati. As the first English newspaper in the then undemarcated Karbi Anglong district, we've forged a strong connection with diverse communities and age groups, earning a reputation for being a reliable source of news and insights. In addition to our print edition, we keep pace with the digital age through our website, https://thehillstimes.in, where we diligently update our readers with the latest happenings day by day. Whether it's local events, regional developments, or global news, The Hills Times strives to keep you informed with dedication and integrity. Join us in staying ahead of the curve and exploring the world through our lens.
Latest news
- Advertisement -
Related news
- Advertisement -
5 National Parks You Should Visit in India Before Monsoon Hits Experience Shillong’s 7 Unforgettable Sights That Will Awaken Your Senses! 7 Must Visit Destinations In The Seven Sisters Of India 5 Rice Dishes For Summers From South India Must Visiting Places In Northeast India