29 C
Thursday, July 25, 2024

Tripura: 44 Lawmakers Take Oath As Mlas

- Advertisement -
- Advertisement -

AGARTALA, March 17 (PTI): Altogether 44 newly elected MLAs of Tripura assembly took oath on Thursday.

They were sworn in as Protem Speaker Binoy Bhusan Das at a ceremony on the assembly premises.

- Advertisement -

Thirty MLAs of BJP including Chief Minister Manik Saha, its ally IPFT’s lone member Sukla Charan Noatia, and 11 lawmakers of CPI(M) including its state secretary Jitendra Chaudhury took oath as MLAs.

Two of the three Congress members — Birajit Sinha and Gopal Chandra Roy – were sworn in, while its other MLA Sudip Barman will take oath on Saturday, as will 14 elected members of Tipra Motha, the protem speaker said.

“The first session of the assembly is scheduled to begin on March 24 and elections for the speaker and deputy speaker will be held on that day,” Das said.

A senior BJP leader said Ratan Chakraborty, who was the speaker of the previous assembly, is likely to retain the post, while MLA Biswabandhu Sen may be the next deputy speaker.

- Advertisement -

The CM posted on social media, “With the blessings of the people, today I took oath as a Member of the Tripura Legislative Assembly. I wholeheartedly thank the people of Town Bardowali constituency for giving me this opportunity. I shall perform my duties as an MLA with utmost honesty.”

Chaudhury later told reporters the CPI(M) MLAs will raise issues of public interest in the assembly on behalf of the people.

“We will continue working for the people so that they are able to exercise the democratic rights enshrined in the Constitution. On development and welfare issues, we will support the treasury bench but will also raise issues affecting the people,” he said.

“The CPI(M) MLAs will also support the Tipra Motha if they raise issues concerning the people and the state,” he said.

- Advertisement -

BJP’s strength in the assembly was reduced to 31 from 32 after the resignation of Pratima Bhoumik. The protem speaker was already administered oath by the governor.


- Advertisement -
The Hills Times
The Hills Timeshttps://thehillstimes.in
Welcome to The Hills Times, your trusted source for daily news and updates in English from the heart of Assam, India. Since our establishment in 2000, we've been dedicated to providing timely and accurate information to our readers in Diphu and Guwahati. As the first English newspaper in the then undemarcated Karbi Anglong district, we've forged a strong connection with diverse communities and age groups, earning a reputation for being a reliable source of news and insights. In addition to our print edition, we keep pace with the digital age through our website, https://thehillstimes.in, where we diligently update our readers with the latest happenings day by day. Whether it's local events, regional developments, or global news, The Hills Times strives to keep you informed with dedication and integrity. Join us in staying ahead of the curve and exploring the world through our lens.
Latest news
- Advertisement -
Related news
- Advertisement -